top of page


Clan Sutherland Society in Australia began formation in Sydney in 1983 with the first newsletter being published early that year. It was formed when Australian descendants with Sutherland roots desired to keep their Scottish traditions and heritage alive. The motto of Clan Sutherland is "Sans Peur", which is French for "Without Fear". The Sutherland name has been connected to Australia from as early as Captain James Cook and his voyage on the HMS Endeavour when he discovered the east coast of Australia. An able seaman, Forby Sutherland died 30th April 1770 and was the first to be buried in the colony of Australia by Captain Cook. He then named Sutherland Point at Botany Bay in his honour.

The main purpose of our Society is to establish contact between Sutherland descendants and associated septs around Australia and World-wide to celebrate and pass on our Sutherland heritage. Over the years we have flourished and grown into a vibrant, widespread organisation with members in almost all Australian states and we are happy to welcome new members with either Sutherland ancestry; ancestors from Sutherlandshire Scotland; or a particular interest in our Clan.


We attend and support as many Scottish and Celtic events and festivals as we can to preserve and promote our history and culture, while enjoying the kinship that our membership presents. We proudly display the Sutherland colours, tartans, and banners at festivals such as Bundanoon Highland Gathering in Brigadoon, Australian Celtic Festival in Glen Innes, Berry Celtic Festival in Berry, The Scenic Rim Clydesdale Spectacular - Calling of the Clans in Boonah, Aberdeen Highland Games to name a few. Our participation ensures the support and maintenance of our history and culture of all things Scottish, including the endangered Scottish Gaelic language. We provide our members with connectedness and identity through our commitment to our heritage and share it regularly in our monthly newsletter. 


The Right Honourable, The 25th Earl of Sutherland,

Dunrobin Castle

Golspie, Sutherland, Scotland.



Lady Annabel Bainton

His Honour, Judge Robert Sutherland



Graeme Sutherland


President: Philip F Sutherland
Vice President: Duncan Sutherland

Treasurer: James Sutherland

Secretary: Michelle Williams
Membership Secretary: Mona Black

Public Officer: Helen Sutherland
Genealogist: Marie Hodgkinson

Historian: Nathan Rantall

Sutherland stone  (2).JPG

The Clan Sutherland

stone in the Celtic Family Wall at Glen Innes.

A gift from the late Countess of Sutherland Elizabeth Millicent Sutherland-Leveson-Gower from Dunrobin Castle in 2006.

It was unveiled during the festival in 2007.


Queensland: Michelle Williams

New South Wales: Duncan Sutherland

Australian Capital Territory: Sharon Kontista

Victoria: Nathan Rantall

Scotland: Mona Black

One of many Clan Sutherland Society in Australia banners

Clan Sutherland's 40th Anniversary Stone GI_edited.jpg

The Sutherland Clan 40th Anniversary stone in the Celtic Family Wall at Glen Innes. The stone comes from the Scottish Hebrides. 

It was unveiled during the festival in 2023.

bottom of page